HMRC在2015年实现有史以来规模最大的数字化自我评税

Publish date:

英国税务部门HMRC与凯捷携手合作,开启志向远大的税务服务数字化转型之旅

背景

英国税务海关总署(HMRC)开始执行志向远大的计划,推行业务数字化并为客户提供全方位的线上互动方式。全新服务令数字交易量不断提高,取得了史上表现最佳的年度自我评税回报周期,截至2015年1月31日,在线纳税申报额达875万英镑。支持本次转型的IT技术由内部团队及主要供应商提供。凯捷负责管理整合和端到端运营,包括承担整合传统在线服务与全新纯数字化渠道的关键责任。

解决方案

自我评税在线应用与HMRC开发的全新多渠道数字税务平台(MDTP)及全新虚拟呼叫中心相结合。MDTP为客户提供用于接收电子邮件提醒的在线帐户、在线聊天预约功能,而且注册了Gov.uk Verify身份验证服务,Gov.uk Verify将成为政府的默认在线服务。

凯捷与HMRC合作,将新的数字服务与现有应用相结合,为用户提供全方位的服务,从政府门户网站互动和登录、了解到期应缴税款,到付款或接收退税,均囊括在内。就应用在流程中的起始点和退出点达成一致后,凯捷为HMRC的实施工作提供支持,接受非功能性操作要求,在灵活项目的分阶段实施中协调利益相关者,并监控服务的日常运营。

成果

HMRC的多渠道数字服务在英国政府部门中最为忙碌,促成了上百万笔交易,让客户更轻松地管理税务。这一可靠的IT技术满足了大量需求,在2015年1月31日截止的自我评税申报中表现优异。过去两天的在线退税金额近一百万,HMRC在1月接到了430万通咨询电话,其中95%的电话首次拨打便接通。

数字化自我评税显示了HMRC逐步引入数字服务的战略取得了成功,重点关注用户需求并将各种要素关联起来,打造流畅的客户体验流程。HMRC整合了纯数字服务和基于传统系统的服务,在尽早为客户带来益处的同时,全面实行数字化转型。因此,超过100万的自我评税客户收到了HMRC发送的电子信息而非纸质信函,超过200万客户(其中很多为小型企业)现已拥有在线税务帐户。

之后将不断改进数字服务,客户能够通过在线帐户集中申报、支付并更改各类税务。未来,数字税务帐户将取代上百万人使用的纳税申报单,税务较为复杂的人将能够使用帐户来申报年收入并支付税款。

HMRC和凯捷如何开展合作

HMRC正在朝愿景迈进,逐步成为一家数字化机构,实现标准化商品服务,提供灵活、有性价比的服务。系统和服务的整合确保了新的组件(例如基于云托管技术的多渠道数字税务平台)在现有流程应用中高效运作,并确保基础设施规模得当,足以应对预计客户量。

在推行全面数字服务转型的同时,HMRC也在推行结合既有技术的全新现代化解决方案。凯捷帮助HMRC定义自我评税客户的用户体验流程和技术整合要求,这些客户包括纳税人或代表个人的会计师,他们使用简洁明了的网页来交叉对比数据,并将多个幕后系统彼此关联以管理流程。这需要严格的规划:凯捷规定了开发环境、进行了建模并准备了测试情境,将测试分配给相关的HMRC和凯捷团队,让他们分别执行某个部分,然后再同时运行所有部分以测试端到端服务。在不断引入并测试新组件的同时,凯捷同步发布并管理服务运营,帮助HMRC实现客户体验目标。凯捷服务运营团队将所有供应商都协调起来,不受合同签署方的制约。HMRC定义了项目功能要求,凯捷提供标准模板,灵活融入HMRC的现有办公实体,并提供应用程序接口(API),令全新数字服务与后台验证和处理系统相结合,并将结果返回多渠道数字税务平台(MDTP)。在开发过程中,凯捷与HMRC数字团队合作展开全面测试,确保客户数据在不同系统间顺畅传输,发布后,双方共同监控客户体验流程的每个元素,及时发现并防止潜在问题。

为了帮助HMRC确保多源环境,凯捷在监控能力上加大投入并分布于整个集成服务范围内,以帮助HMRC管理运营。凯捷分析了整个端到端流程,通过明确问题来获得洞见,从而确定正确架构、应用,并让基础设施专家协作探究根因,评估如何改善服务并与商业利益相关者就变更达成一致。各方都了解自己扮演的角色,以确保新服务和业务像普通交易般顺利展开。

2015年1月初,凯捷和HMRC共同建立自我评税指挥中心,详细检查端到端服务的每个要素,从而将全国各地的控制中心连接起来,快速统一行动,令服务顺畅运行。税务申报的最后一周,指挥中心全天24小时待命,在截止日当天,HMRC的首席数字信息官和个人税务总监来到现场支援团队,并在现场作出商业和技术决策。最终,有大量客户通过在线服务准时申报,团队在午夜为此热烈庆祝。

以下为指挥中心简介、运作方式及关键成功因素的相关详情。

HMRC和凯捷指挥中心

简介:指挥中心是一个高科技神经中枢,旨在为HMRC监控并分析主要可用性、绩效和商业指标,让凯捷和供应商作出明智决策,高效管理客户服务技术和商业数据。指挥中心能够将实时信息传输至HMRC管理中心,并快速就干预措施达成一致,以维持服务的顺利运转。自我评税申报量表明了仔细检查运行状况并快速行动以维护服务的重要性:每分钟有830位客户申报纳税,每秒0.8笔付款。

运作方式:凯捷创建指挥中心的目的是在高峰期加强对商业关键流程的监控,例如1月的自我评税申报截止日。指挥中心是掌控着各个控制中心,其地位高于4个分别用于管理网络、应用、安全和商业流程的机构中心,而且也掌控着其他供应商的控制中心和外部互联网流量的信息源。指挥中心会显示与自我评税相关的系统信息和服务详情,促成快速决策,让上百万人履行纳税义务。

信息源:凯捷安装了专家监控设备,用于监控和分析HMRC网络内的战略要点。监控设备提供的分析数据反映了上千个节点的最新系统状态,数据在系统间传输或是传至数据中心和云端时,都会经过节点,而且在变更系统和引入新技术时,分析数据会得到维持。这种监控能够提动独特洞见,深入了解机构的运营情况并提供关键信息,以便快速了解情况并作出决策。由凯捷负责管理的同时,HMRC也会安排专家并设置高级边界控制来管理和规划公民对关键系统的访问路径。为了增加洞见,凯捷使用复杂的综合交易并监控社交媒体和新闻机构,查找可能与HMRC服务相关的评论和报道。通过内外监控相结合,HMRC能够全面了解最终用户的体验。

专家决策:HMRC和凯捷的指挥中心配备众多专家,他们具备与关键商业活动相关的技术、服务管理和商业知识,能够在计算机屏幕墙上评估实时分析,并快速确定预防措施以处理不断涌现的新问题。自我评税申报的最后一周,指挥中心全天24小时待命,在截止日当天,HMRC的首席数字信息官和个人税务总监来到现场支援商业和技术决策团队。

关键成功因素:准确的信息和快速决策确保指挥中心能够作出正确决策,保护客户交易。指挥中心的设立前提是商业和技术利益相关者意识到需要加强日常管理,从而高效管理巨大的客户量。凯捷为相关的客户之旅度身定制信息源,决策制定者也都具备相应领域的专业知识。指挥中心适用于所有关键商业活动,例如重大新系统的发布、重要供应商与IT机构的对接,等等。指挥中心对于完善面向客户的IT服务起着关键作用。

HMRC供应商和凯捷如何开展合作

数字化自我评税显示了凯捷的系统和服务整合如何帮助HMRC同时利用内部团队和供应商团队高效展开工作,提供全新数字服务,令客户更轻松地管理税务。

HMRC与KCOM签署了全新虚拟呼叫中心平台合同,这个例子表明了凯捷系统和服务整合(SSI)如何与供应商合作,提供服务管理流程,让HMRC与大量供应商之间建立前所未有的直接联系。KCOM的平台将客户来电与联系中心顾问或求助问题的标准答案相连,为顾问提供客户详情,并连接至后台办公系统。为了深入了解系统整合和服务管理要求,HMRC和KCOM与凯捷会面以了解整个流程。为了具体了解如何将不同要素彼此结合,KCOM与凯捷架构师合作整合要素。

新平台先在两个联系中心试点,然后才在全国各大站点推广。试点期间,KCOM和凯捷评估了服务表现情况并共同诊断问题,采用凯捷技术专家提供的相关建议,并向HMRC提供状态更新。HMRC和KCOM之间达成了基于优先服务的协议合同,因此凯捷与KCOM的专业知识共享包括在凯捷服务中心的两周时间,目的是评估事件记录并逐步实施从根因分析到寻找解决方案的整个流程。自我评税申报高峰期间,KCOM会在指挥中心对面的房间设立他们的控制中心。凯捷负责监控服务,包括深入供应商数据中心和云平台的网络监控,KCOM则负责监控服务的各个方面。凯捷和KCOM共同评估了不断增加的客户量对绩效有何影响,从而让KCOM能够在必要时提高供应链内部产能。

KCOM拥有全球规模最大的虚拟呼叫中心之一,从这个呼叫中心的实施工作中可以发现,细心规划系统和服务整合要求对于供应商成功为HMRC发布新服务至关重要。整合过程十分复杂,需要深入了解架构、系统、网络和商业,从一开始就确保高效服务。

HMRC Achieves Biggest Ever...

页面尺寸:291.89 KB File type: PDF

Related Resources

Digital Services

2016年电子政务基准

2016年电子政务基准报告评估了欧盟国家在欧盟电子政务行动计划首要领域的进展。

Digital Services

根本性转型

如果不进行根本性转型,我们是否真的能进入数字管理时代?

HMRC Achieves Biggest Ever Digital Self Assessment in 2015

| Client story

The Situation

HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC), the UK tax authority, has embarked on ambitious plans to digitise its business and give customers the option to deal with them entirely online. New services are enabling increasing volumes of digital transactions, including the best ever annual Self Assessment tax returns cycle, with 8.75 million online submissions by 31st January 2015. The IT that supports this is delivered by in-house teams and key suppliers. Capgemini manages integration and end-to-end operations, including the crucial role of integrating the legacy online service with the new fully-digital channel.

The Solution

The Self Assessment online application integrates with the new Multi-channel Digital Tax Platform (MDTP) and new virtual call centre that HMRC has developed. MDTP offers customers an online account for email alerts, the ability to book webchat appointments, and register with Gov.uk Verify, the identity checking service that will become the default for Government online services.

Capgemini worked with HMRC to define the user journey that linked new digital services with existing applications, from interactions with Government Gateway and login, to working out what tax is due, through to making payments or receiving a refund. When start and exit points across applications in the process were agreed, Capgemini supported HMRC implementation,agreeing non-functional operational requirements, aligning stakeholders around the phased introduction of agile projects and overseeing the day to day operation of the services.

The Results

HMRC’s multi-channel digital services are the busiest in UK Government, enabling millions of transactions and making it simpler for customers to manage their tax. The IT reliably supported huge demand in the lead up to the Self Assessment filing deadline on 31st January 2015. There were almost a million online returns on the last two days, and queries contributed to 4.3 million calls to HMRC in January, 95% of which were answered first time.

Digital Self Assessment shows the success of HMRC’s strategy to introduce digital services in incremental phases, focusing on user needs and linking components for a seamless customer journey. A combination of fully-digital services and services that integrate with legacy systems brings early benefits for customers while HMRC enacts fully, its digital transformation. As a result, over a million Self Assessment customers received electronic messages from HMRC rather than paper communications, and over two million customers, many of whom are small businesses, now have online tax accounts.

The digital service will be enhanced over time, for customers to file, pay and make changes across all of their taxes in a single place via their online account. In the future, digital tax accounts will replace tax returns for millions of people, while those with more complex tax affairs will be able to use their account to declare income and pay tax in year.

How HMRC and Capgemini Worked Together

HMRC is realising their vision to become a digital organisation, procuring standardised commodity services for flexible, value for money services. System and service integration ensures the new components – like the Multi-channel Digital Tax Platform on cloud-hosted technology - works effectively with the existing processing applications and the infrastructure is sized to handle projected volumes of customers.

While HMRC transitions to fully digital services, they are running new modern solutions that integrate with established technology. Capgemini helped HMRC define user journeys and technical integration requirements for HMRC Self Assessment customers - either taxpayers or accountants who act on individuals’ behalf – who use straightforward web pages that cross check data and manage the process flow by linking with multiple systems behind the scenes. This requires rigorous planning; Capgemini specified development environments,modelled capacity, and prepared test scenarios which apportioned testing to relevant HMRC and Capgemini teams to carry out for individual sections and which were run simultaneously to test the end to end service. New components were introduced and tested continuously, and Capgemini synchronised releases and managed service operations, helping HMRC achieve their customer experience objectives. Capgemini Service Operations coordinated all suppliers regardless of who their contracts are with. HMRC defined functional requirements for projects, and Capgemini provided standard templates for agile delivery into HMRC’s existing estate and delivered Application Programme Interfaces (APIs) to enable new digital services to link with back-end verification and processing systems and pass results back to the Multi-channel Digital Tax Platform (MDTP). During development, Capgemini worked with the HMRC digital team on comprehensive testing which ensured customer data moved seamlessly across different systems, and, following launch, jointly monitored each element of the customer journey to spot and prevent potential problems.

To help HMRC assure the multi-sourced environment, Capgemini invested in monitoring capabilities and configured them across the integrated service to help manage operations. Analysing the end to end process to identify issues provided Capgemini with insights to identify the right architects, applications and infrastructure experts to coordinate with to drill down to root causes, assess how services could be modified, and agree changes with business stakeholders. All parties understand the role they played to ensure new services and business as usual transactions ran smoothly.

At the beginning of January 2015, Capgemini and HMRC set up Self Assessment Mission Control to scrutinise every element of the end-to-end service. It linked to control centres around the country and rapidly agreed actions to keep the service running smoothly. During the final week of filing, Mission Control was staffed 24-hours a day, and on deadline day HMRC’s Chief Digital Information Officer and Director General for Personal Tax came to support the team and make business and technology decisions in the same room. At midnight, the teams celebrated the huge number of customers who had used the online service to file on-time.

Here is more detail about what Mission Control is, how it works, and critical success factors.

HMRC & Capgemini Mission Control

What: Mission Control is a high-tech nerve centre that monitors and analyses key availability, performance and business metrics for HMRC, Capgemini and suppliers to make informed decisions to manage customer service technology and business data effectively. It streams real-time information to HMRC management hubs and rapidly agrees interventions to keep the service running smoothly. The volumes for Self Assessment filing show how critical it is to scrutinise performance and act quickly to protect service: up to 830 customers file returns per minute and 0.8 payments per second.

How it works: Capgemini sets up Mission Control for additional monitoring of business critical processing during peak periods, like the Self Assessment filing deadline in January. It is a control centre of control centres, which sits above four estate-wide centres for operational management of networks, applications, security and business processes, other suppliers’ control centres, and information feeds about external internet traffic. Mission Control displays details about systems and services which relate to Self Assessment, and facilitates very quick decisions that enable millions of people to meet their tax obligations.

Information feeds: Capgemini has installed expert monitoring devices that watch and analyse strategic points throughout HMRC’s network. The analytics data they provide reflects the latest system state across thousands of nodes, where data flows between systems, to data centres and the cloud, and is maintained as systems change and new technology is added. This monitoring provides unique insight into how the estate is operating and provides critical information to allow rapid understating and decision making. Managed by Capgemini, HMRC also has expert, advanced boundary controls to manage and route access to the critical systems by the citizen. For additional insights, Capgemini uses complex synthetic transactions and monitors social networks and news agencies to spot comments and stories that could be relevant to HMRC services. This combination of internal and external monitoring provides a full view of the end user experience.

Expert decision making: HMRC and Capgemini experts with technical, service management and business knowledge about the key business event are based in Mission Control, to review real-time analytics on a wall of computer screens, and rapidly agree preventative action to address emerging problems. During the final week of Self Assessment filing, Mission Control was staffed 24-hours a day, and on deadline day HMRC’s Chief Digital Information Officer and Director General for Personal Tax came to support the business and technology decision making team.

Critical success factors: Accurate information, and quick decision making ensures Mission Control makes the right decisions to protect customer transactions. It is set up when business and technology stakeholders agree they need to provide additional focus, over and day-to-day management, to effectively manage particularly high customer volumes. Information feeds are tailored for the relevant customer journey, and the appropriate decision makers represent the particular area of expertise. Mission Control is used for all key business events, when major new systems are launched, and to on-board significant suppliers into the IT estate. It plays an important role ensuring excellent customer-facing IT services.

How HMRC suppliers and Capgemini work together

Digital Self Assessment shows how Capgemini system and service integration is helping HMRC work effectively with a mix of both in-house and supplier teams to provide new digital services that make it simpler for customers to manage their tax.

HMRC’s contract with KCOM for the new virtual call centre platform is an example of how Capgemini system and service integration (SSI) works with suppliers to provide the service management processes that enable HMRC to have a direct relationship with a larger number of suppliers than ever before. KCOM’s platform links customer calls with contact centre advisers or standard answers to help questions, it provides advisers with customer details, and it links to back office systems. To help create a shared understanding of system integration and service management requirements HMRC and KCOM met with Capgemini to walk through the process. For detailed work on how different components link together, KCOM worked with a Capgemini architect on the integration elements.

The new platform was piloted in two contact centres, before rolling it out to sites around the country. During the pilot, KCOM and Capgemini reviewed how the service performed, working together to diagnose problems, tap into advice from Capgemini technical experts where relevant, and provide status updates to HMRC. The contract with HMRC is KCOM’s first service-based agreement, so Capgemini knowledge share with KCOM included two weeks in Capgemini’s service centre to review incident logs and apply a step-bystep process, from root-cause analysis to finding the solution to underlying problems. During the Self Assessment filing peak, KCOM set up their control centre in a room opposite the Mission Control Centre. Capgemini monitored the service, including network monitoring probes that extend into supplier data centres and cloud platforms, and KCOM monitored individual aspects of their service. Together, Capgemini and KCOM assessed how increasing customer volumes impacted performance, so KCOM could increase capacity within their supply chain, where necessary.

KCOM’s virtual call centre implementation– which is one of the largest in the world - is an example of how careful planning of system and service integration requirements helps suppliers successfully launch new services for HMRC. The complexity of the integration required close architectural, system, network and business understanding to ensure the service was effective from day one.